The Road to Improvement

I haven’t been the wife or mother I used to be lately. I haven’t been the homemaker I used to be. Haven’t been the Christian I used to be, for that matter.

And I’ve been beating myself up over it all.

It’s been prayed about. It’s under the Blood. I know what I need to do to fix it all.

I just hesitate to begin. Which is why I’m blogging about it — to hold myself accountable.

*Getting the Walk right again

Just a matter of dedicating more time to prayer, worship, and study. I need to go to bed at a more reasonable hour, so that I can wake up before everyone and begin my day with prayer and study. In the evenings, I have at least 2 hours to do more prayer, study, and worship.
*Being a better wife and mother

My marriage isn’t a bad one by any means, but I do feel recent stressful times have pulled my husband and I apart a little. It’s not a feeling I enjoy in the least. Christin at Joyful Mothering recently posted about The Husband Project challenge that she’s going to head up … and I happen to have the book … so I signed up!

With the children, I’m going to work on raising my voice less, including them more {in the kitchen, with chores, special projects, etc}, and asking them to go play with the door shut less often. I love our children. Very much. I enjoy having them around and I enjoy including them in what I’m doing.

This may or may not have anything to do with it, but I used to cover my head. And when I had my head covered, I was more aware of how I was acting towards my family. I was able to more easily remind myself to be gentle with the children in tone when speaking to them and in submission to my husband even when I highly disagreed with him. So, at least for a time, I think I need to return to headcovering.

*Being a better homemaker

This can mostly be solved by not allowing myself to fall so easily into laziness. If I just set a timer and continuously moved and worked on some task(s) during that time, I could get much accomplished.

While I know outer appearance isn’t as important as what’s going on inside of a person, I can’t help but remember that when I was wearing dresses and skirts exclusively, I not only looked more put together, but I also was more productive in the home. My husband prefers how a dress or skirt looks on me more than a pair of sweatpants or yoga pants anyway. And if I’m honest with myself, not only do I feel more like a lady … but I prefer myself in dresses and skirts over pants too.

Yes, these are all fairly simple things to get problem areas fixed. I’m the sort of person who doesn’t like even the smallest issue to fester, though. It usually doesn’t take long for a small issue to grow into a larger one, afterall.

Are there any areas you’re currently working to improve yourself? Please share in the comments. Let’s encourage one another!

 

Leave a comment